Alfred P. Sloan Teaching Champion Awards

The Council for Economic Education recognizes excellence in economic education by honoring three outstanding educators from the New York Metropolitan area with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Teaching Champion Award.

This award promotes economic education at the high school level by recognizing and honoring teachers who effectively deliver this important content in and out of their classrooms and achieve results. We seek applicants who instill in students an understanding of economics and the tools to make informed and responsible decisions that they will carry with them as they grow into successful and productive adults


  • A cash award of $5,000.
  • A cash award for their school of $2,500 to support economic education.
  • Recognition at CEE’s Visionary Awards on October 25, 2017.
  • A scholarship to attend the 56th Annual Financial Literacy and Economic Education Conference in Brooklyn, NY, October 6-7, 2017.
  • The opportunity to share best practices with their teaching colleagues by co-facilitating a professional development workshop for the National Center for Economic and Financial Education in New York, at the annual conference or via webinar.

2017 Awardees

Doug Kramer, 12th Grade Economics, AP Economics, World History, and Government at Herricks High School
View Bio
Theodore Opderbeck, 10-12th Grade AP Economics, Honors Economics, Principles of Economics and Personal Finance, US History, Criminal Procedure, and Introduction to Law at Waldwick High School
View Bio
Gabriel Tanglao, Currently 10-11th Grade AP US History, and US History I Honors at Bergen County Technical Schools, Teterboro Campus. Previously 9-12th Grade AP Economics, Personal Finance & Economics, and Modern World History at Bergenfield High School.
View Bio

More from the CEE